Admin & Rights Overview

The Admin & Rights Module is where you administer your SessionM Platform accounts. You can create, edit and disable individual accounts, setting access rights at a module level. You can also create groups that share the same configuration of rights access. Groups make it easy to create a set of platform accounts for a particular department, for example Customer Service.

Note

Any account that is given read/write permission to the Admin & Rights Module is considered an administrator account and can create and edit other platform accounts. During the initial onboarding and set up process, SessionM creates one or more administrator accounts for your company.

Admin & Rights Dashboard

The dashboard of the Admin & Rights Module has two tabs: one shows all the individual accounts while the other shows any groups that you have set up.

When viewing the Accounts tab, you can see basic information about each account, including status and the groups to which the individual belongs. Clicking on the person’s name takes you to an edit screen where you can make adjustments to the account, including disabling it. The Add Account button allows you to add new accounts.

The Accounts tab shows all of the platform users.

Accounts View

The Accounts tab displays the individual accounts of each platform user, with the following fields:

Status – Current status of the platform account. Account statuses include the following:

  • Active – Active in your organization.
  • Pending – Not yet confirmed by clicking the link in the email sent when the account was created.
  • Disabled – Disabled by an administrator.

ID – Numeric value identifying the account.

Name – Platform user’s first and last name, entered when the account was created. Clicking the user’s name allows you to edit the account.

Email – Email address of the platform user, entered when the account was created.

Groups – List that identifies the group(s) to which the account belongs.

Tip

Keep in mind the distinction between platform user accounts and customer accounts within the platform. Platform user accounts (internal staff) are managed in this module, while customer information is managed in the Customer Profiles Module.

Groups View

The Groups tab displays any groups you have created and lists the members within each group. From here, you can create new groups and edit existing groups. Groups can be very handy when you have a set of users who interact with the platform in the same way and require the same set of permissions.

The “Groups” tab shows all groups and the members.

The Groups tab has the following fields:

Group – Name of the group. Clicking the group name allows you to edit the group.

Members – All members of the group.

Configuring Accounts

As an administrator, you can create new accounts for platform users and specify their level of access.

Account Types

There are two types of accounts within the SessionM Platform.

Administrator Account – Accounts with access to the Admin & Rights Module and privileges to create and manage platform user accounts.

Standard Accounts – Accounts with access to specific modules within the platform.

Note

Only platform users with administrator rights have access to the Admin & Rights Module.

Create an Account

To create an account, click the Add Account button at the top right of the Accounts tab of the Admin & Rights dashboard.

Click the Add Account button to add platform users.

On the account creation form, you must enter the user’s first and last name, along with their email address.

You can set which modules the user is able to access by selecting each module individually, or you can select a group from the Group dropdown. When you select a group to add the user to, the permissions of that group is applied.

The form to add new platform users.

Note

Group permissions appear as grayed-out checkboxes since you can’t edit these permissions on this screen. You can change group permissions only when editing the group.

As shown in the image below, an account can be created with a combination of access permissions, including:

Read – Platform user is able to view the applicable module but cannot make any changes.

Read & Write – Platform user is able to both read and make changes to the applicable module.

Approve & Publish – In modules where marketing content is created (for example, Campaigns or Surveys), an additional level of access is required to approve and publish created content.

When adding platform users, you can specify the level of access they have to modules.

You can also control an account’s access level via groups. When you add an account to a particular group, all the permissions of that group are applied to the account. Group permissions are added to any permissions individually set for the user, so you can use both methods for setting account access.

Once you save the account, the user is sent an email with a link to complete the account creation. Until the user clicks the link and creates their password, the account displays as “pending.”

Edit an Account

To edit an account, click on the user’s name from the Account tab. You are taken to the user’s account, where you can click the Edit button in the upper right. You are able to edit all fields and module permission levels.

If an account has a status of “Pending,” meaning the user has yet to accept the invitation and create their password, you have the following options, which appear as buttons in the upper right of the screen:

Resend Invite – This resends the invitation email to the user.

Cancel Invite – This sets the user account to “disabled” and adds a Reactivate button. Clicking the Reactivate button puts the account back into the “pending” state.

Note

When you reactivate a pending account that was disabled, the system does not resend the invitation email. You can click the Resend Invite button to do that.

An active account has a Disable button in the upper right, along with the Edit button. Disabled accounts can be reactivated by clicking the Reactivate button in the upper right.

Create a Group

Groups allow you to define a level of access to the platform and then easily apply that to a set of accounts. To create a group, click the Create Group button on the Groups tab of the Admin & Rights dashboard.

Click the Create Group button to create platform groups.

Here, you can name the group, add any existing accounts to it and configure the level of access the group members have.

The form to add a new platform group.

Once saved, the group is created and the platform users within it are assigned their module access rights, as defined by the group’s permissions.

Edit a Group

To edit a group, click on the group name from the Group tab, and then click the Edit button in the upper right. You can edit the members of the group by adding or removing members. You can also edit the permission level of the group.

Note

Adding a platform user to an account group augments any permissions already defined for an individual account.